The next official tests are  on April 29th, 2017 (grown-ups & teenagers) at 10 am and on May 20th, 2017 (children up to 9½ years)

How do I qualify for Mensa membership?

Membership in Mensa is open to persons who have attained a score within the upper two percent of the general population on an approved intelligence test that has been properly administered and supervised. There is no other qualification or disqualification for membership eligibility.

The term "IQ score" is widely used but poorly defined. There are a large number of tests with different scales. The result on one test of 132 can be the same as a score 148 on another test. Some intelligence tests don't use IQ scores at all. Mensa has set a percentile as cutoff to avoid this confusion. Candidates for membership in Mensa must achieve a score at or above the 98th percentile on a standard test of intelligence (a score that is greater than or equal to that achieved by 98 percent of the general population taking the test).

Generally, there are two ways to prove that you qualify for Mensa: either take the Mensa test, or submit a qualifying test score from another test (supervised and approved by Mensa). There are a large number of intelligence tests that are "approved". More information on whether a test you have taken is approved, as well as information on the procedure for taking the Mensa test, can be obtained from the nearest Mensa office. There are no on-line tests that can be used for admission to Mensa. Feel free to contact Mensa for specific details about eligibility. In any case, a certified copy of the test results is necessary to get the result approved.

Should you wish to try our IQ official test which is organized twice a year, we recommend to pass first the Pre-Test available in this site.

Mensa has no other eligibility requirements other than IQ testing. However, many tests are not valid for people under the age of 16 and Mensa does not recognize Tests passed on Internet. You should contact the nearest Mensa office for more information.

Is there a Mensa IQ Test?

If you have never taken an IQ Test yet, the easiest way is to participate in a test organised by Mensa. First you should do the online Pre-Test. If the result is encouraging, then we recommend you to take part in one of our supervised test sessions. These take place twice a year, generally in April and October, and will cost you 40€.

Important:

  • The Pre-Test is free and is not compulsory; you can directly register to the official Mensa Test.
  • The Pre-Test is not valid for Mensa membership but it will give you a good idea of your chances to pass the Official Test. You will also get acquainted with IQ testing.
  • Should you fail your first official test, you may apply for the following session, free of charge
  • Mensa tests are not the same in the various Countries. Here in Luxembourg we use two different tests, both "culture fair". This means that your Mother Tongue is irrelevant and that it does not require general culture knowledge.
  • Be careful: There is a wide range of IQ Tests on the Internet that provide a false image of IQ Tests. Our Test does not contain any questions implying culture (what is the third King? …), computation (how many possibilities and when …) or language (what is the synonym of …)

The Mensa IQ test is a standardised and phased test which is supervised by a psychologist, and which is primarily aimed at finding gifted people. Results equal to or greater than the 98% percentile grant the right to be part of the Mensa organization. (www.mensa.lu and www.mensa.org) This test does not contain any question on general culture. It rather tests the logical and mathematical skills and abilities (the speed of information processing, analysis and synthesis , attention to detail, etc..). If the candidate has not reached the score needed for a Mensa.lu membership, he has the right to take the test another time for free.

This test is proposed twice a year by Mensa Luxembourg. The date and place can be found on this site, in the yellow box on top of each page.

What kind of questions are asked at our IQ test?

At the Mensa IQ Test in Luxembourg there are no questions about general education, nor culture, school, nor language skills. Rather, it is about mathematical and logical understanding, information processing speed, analysis, attention to detail, etc.

It is a recognized test held under the supervision of a psychologist, where the aim is to discover above average and gifted people.

A result which is better than or equal to 98% of the population entitles you to become a member of MENSA (www.mensa.lu, www.mensa.org)

How to find out when the next Mensa IQ test will take place?

The date of the next test is in the yellow box located at the top of every page on our website.

How do I register for the Mensa IQ test (ages 9 and up), and how is it organized?

The registration for the test for youngsters and adults is on site, and starts half hour before the start of the actual test.

ADDRESS: 35, rue de Bonnevoie, L-1260 Luxembourg
RECEPTION / CASH DESK: starting at 9:30
START OF THE TEST: 10:00
DURATION: 1 hour for kids aged 9-14 years, 2 hours for people over 14 years.
PRICE: The test costs 40€, payable (cash) on site. Here you also fill out the registration form. If you do not reach the necessary score for a Mensa membership at the first attempt, then you may repeat the test at a later date for free.

The results will be sent 2-4 week after the test via postal mail.

We are sorry to say that we are unable to give out any results via email or phone.

Die nächsten offiziellen Tests sind  am 29. April 2017 (Erwachsene und Jugendliche) um 10 Uhr und am 20. Mai 2017 (Kinder bis 9½ Jahre)

Wie qualifiziere ich mich für Mensa?

Jeder der nachweisen kann dass er in einem anerkannten, überwachten Test ein besseres Ergebnis erzielt hat als es 98% der Bevölkerung erreichen würde, kann Mitglied bei Mensa werden. Es gibt kein anderes Aufnahmekriterium.

Der Ausdruck "IQ" wird oft benutzt, ist aber an sich schlecht definiert. Es gibt viele verschiedene Tests mit verschiedenen Skalierungen. So kann beispielsweise ein Resultat von 132 Punkten bei einem Test einem Ergebnis von 145 bei einem anderen Test entsprechen. Um dieser Verwirrung zu entgehen hat Mensa einen bestimmten Prozentsatz als Schwellenwert festgelegt: der Kandidat muss in einem standardisierten, anerkannten IQ-Test ein Ergebnis erreichen, welches höher liegt als jenes von 98% der Bevölkerung.

Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten sich für Mensa zu qualifizieren: entweder man macht den Test bei Mensa oder man erbringt den Nachweis dass man den nötigen Wert bei einem überwachten und von Mensa anerkannten Test erreicht hat. Es gibt einige Tests die Mensa anerkennt. Falls man schon mal an einem Test teilgenommen hat, kann man sich an Mensa wenden und den Test anerkennen lassen. Man benötigt dazu allerdings eine beglaubigte Kopie des Ergebnisses.

Bevor man den Test bei Mensa macht sollte man den Pre-Test durchführen. Dieser ist kostenlos, man findet ihn auf unserer Webseite.

Gibt es einen gemeinsamen Mensa Test?

Falls man noch nie an einem IQ Test teilgenommen hat ist es am einfachsten den Test bei Mensa zu machen. Zuerst sollte man den Pre-Test (online IQ-Test) durchführen um seine Chancen abzuschätzen.

Falls das Resultat vielversprechend ist, kann man beim nächsten offiziellen Test mitmachen. Dieser Test wird überwacht und von einem Psychologen ausgewertet. Deshalb müssen wir 40€ für den Test veranschlagen. Ein gutes Ergebnis beim Pre-Test allein reicht nicht aus um Mitglied bei Mensa zu werden.

Wichtig:

  • Der Pre-Test ist nicht obligatorisch, man kann auch gleich den richtigen Mensa Test machen. Man sollte allerdings bedenken, dass der Pre-Test vielleicht eine gute Übung ist - es ist gut einmal zu sehen wie solch ein Test aussehen kann. Außerdem ist der Pre-Test kostenlos.
  • Falls man beim offiziellen Test das für eine Aufnahme bei Mensa nötige Resultat nicht erreicht hat, darf man den Test einmal kostenlos wiederholen!
  • Die Tests sind nicht in jedem Land gleich. Hier in Luxemburg besteht der Test aus zwei verschiedenen Tests welche beide kulturunabhängig ("culture fair") sind. Das bedeutet auch dass keine besonderen sprachlichen Kenntnisse erfordert sind.
  • Achtung: Es gibt eine ganze Reihe "IQ Tests" im Internet, die ein vollkommen falsches Bild vermitteln. Im Mensa Test werden keine Wissensfragen gestellt, es werden keine Rechenaufgaben gestellt und es werden auch keine Sprachkenntnisse getestet.

Dies ist ein anerkannter mehrstufiger Test unter Aufsicht eines Psychologen, der in erster Linie das Auffinden intellektuell frühreifer Menschen zum Zweck hat. Ein Ergebnis das gleich oder besser ist als das von 98% der Bevölkerung gibt das Recht, Mitglied der Mensa Organisation zu werden (www.mensa.lu und www.mensa.org). Dieser Test enthält keine Frage zur Allgemeinbildung, er testet eher die logisch-mathematischen Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten (die Geschwindigkeit der Informationsverarbeitung, Analyse und Synthese, Liebe zum Detail, etc.). Wenn der Bewerber nicht die nötige Punktzahl erreicht um Mitglied von Mensa Luxemburg zu werden, hat er das Recht, noch ein zweites Mal kostenlos teilzunehmen.

Dieser Test wird zwei mal im Jahr von Mensa Luxemburg angeboten. Das Datum und die Adresse findet man in dem gelben Kasten der sich oben auf jeder Seite unseres Webauftritts befindet.

Was wird beim IQ Test gefragt?

Beim Mensa IQ-Test in Luxemburg gibt es weder Fragen über Allgemeinbildung, noch über Kultur, Schule oder sprachliche Kompetenzen. Viel mehr geht es um das mathematisch-logische Verständnis, die Geschwindigkeit Informationen zu verarbeiten, die Analyse, die Liebe zum Detail, usw.

Es handelt sich um einen anerkannten Test unter der Aufsicht eines Psychologen, wo es darum geht überdurchschnittlich und hochbegabte Personen zu entdecken.

Ein Resultat was besser oder gleich ist als 98% der Bevölkerung gibt einem das Recht, Mitglied bei MENSA (www.mensa.lu, www.mensa.org) zu werden.

Wir erfahre ich wann der nächste Mensa IQ-Test statt findet?

Das Datum des nächsten Tests steht im gelben Kasten der sich oben auf jeder Seite unseres Webauftritts befindet.

Wie schreibe ich mich für den Mensa IQ-Test ein (ab 9 Jahren), und wie läuft dieser praktisch ab?

Die Einschreibung für den Test für Jugendliche und Erwachsene ist vor Ort, und beginnt ab einer halben Stunde vor dem Beginn des eigentlichen Tests.

ADRESSE: 35, rue de Bonnevoie, L-1260 Luxembourg
EMPFANG/KASSE: ab 9 Uhr 30
ANFANG DES TESTS: 10 Uhr
DAUER: 1 Stunde für Jugendliche von 9-14 Jahren, 2 Stunden für Personen ab 14 Jahren.
PREIS: Der Test kostet 40€, zu zahlen (bar) vor Ort. Hier füllt man denn auch das Einschreibungsformular aus. Falls man den für Mensa nötigen Wert nicht beim ersten Mal erreicht, dann darf man den Test gratis noch einmal zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt wiederholen.

Die Resultate werden 2-4 Wochen nach dem Test per Post versendet.

Leider können wir keine Anfrage zu den Resultaten per Email oder Telefon beantworten.